He Doesn’t Say I Love You

But he holds me close
every night
his head heavy
on my chest,
he listens intently to
the whisper of my heartbeat,
his legs
tangled in mine,
our noses touching
as we drift to sleep

He doesn’t say I love you
but he pulls me to him
when he hears a song
by Billy Joel
and moves his body
to the music
presses his lips
to my forehead
and sings into me

He doesn’t say I love you
but he sneaks into my room
after he’s left in the morning
running his fingers up and down
my spine while I sleep
at peace
comfortable in his presence

He doesn’t say I love you
but he looks into my eyes
and I know he does
he’s a goner
I tell him to read my mind
and he does the same
with our bodies pressed together
at 2 in the morning.

we like this game

Leave a Reply

