Only Fools Rush In

In your eyes,
your big, brown,
lovely eyes,
I find myself dancing.

Like the time you held
my body close to yours,
pressing into me as we
swayed back and forth
in the kitchen
to the sounds of Elvis.

I remember the heat
of your lips
against my forehead
and your sweet breath
exhaling the words
of the song.

You know,
that’s a moment
I don’t think I could
bring myself to forget,
even if I wanted to.

For instance,
if you and I
find that we are not
so good,
which is a concept
I won’t believe,
I will hug that moment
tight to my chest,
hold it next to my heart,
lucky to have shared that
with someone as good
as you.

Leave a Reply

