Your Muse

Once upon a time
I was your muse
with flowers in my hair
and love on my breath

you painted pictures of me
with hands delicate
and careful
you told the tale
of a bright white
spirit
holding you captive

can’t say that I didn’t
fall hard
for your attention
and I would be lying
if I said I don’t miss it

but of course
you ran out of words
to describe the color
of my eyes
and you ran out of ways
to say you wanted my body
and you couldn’t anymore
tell me that you loved me

I only hope
you don’t run out of
words for her

Leave a Reply

